The Dam Has Broken

Pre365 003

This girl is an emotional wreck. Steer clear.

I’ve been juggling feelings of happiness, excitement, sadness, and an ocean’s worth of tears for the past couple weeks, and until 20 minutes ago, they were all in check. Wanna know what set me off? My last trip to Wegmans. It didn’t really hit me until I got home and saw one of my suitcase, fully packed, and my barren clothes rack. That plus Jacob laying on my “bed,” I’ve been sleeping on an air-bed for the past 4 months, with his adorable little nugget face caused the dam that are my tear ducts to flood onto my face. And my sweater. And the multiple tissues I needed to soak up every last tear.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited to start something new, but I’m not at all excited to leave my family. They’ve been my rocks forever, but especially the past few months. My sister is my best friend, and I would have gone crazy and DIED without her poking fun at me, shopping with me, taking me to movies, eating with me, and being mean to me the only way that sisters can without actually being mean. My mom, the infinite pool of wisdom that she is, has prepared me for the journey that’s ahead of me, and for that I’ll be forever grateful. My dad is the strong silent type, but as he helped me pack up some of the last of my things yesterday, I couldn’t stop thinking about how much I’m going to miss him.

You don’t realize how important certain people are in your life until you don’t have access to them everyday. Thank goodness for Skype.

-Stephanie

Standard

One thought on “The Dam Has Broken

  1. Megan says:

    Don’t you cry missy!! You can do this with everyone’s help. When the Appleby clan is soundly sleeping at midnight our time and you’re a wreck right before bed you know my bad sleeping habits will always have me up with an ear to lend. I am so proud of you for finally taking this leap which will lead to endless, amazing opportunities as long as you let it. As cute as Jacob is, you’ll now get to see Christian’s adorable face every day!! We’ll visit soon too and time will fly until June when you come back to visit! Love, love, love you!!!

Leave a Reply

