[022] Pearl Harbor

022

I usually try to come up with snazzy or clever titles for each of my posts, but today this seemed pretty straight forward and fitting.

I slept in a little bit and then kind of mosied around until we all figured out what to do. After dropping my aunt off to get a massage the rest of us headed over to Pearl Harbor. This was the only must on my to-see list while in Hawaii.

I got my ticket for the Arizona Memorial and realized I had a solid 3 hours to kill until it would be my turn, so we walked around, looked at the beautiful scenery, got some lunch, and walked through a couple of small museum like areas. And then finally, it was my turn to see the memorial.

There was a 20 minute video before actually boarding the boat to go the the memorial, and it kind of put everything around me into perspective. I don’t think I’d call myself the sentimental type, but this whole situation makes you just makes you think about everyone that died, and all the people directly and indirectly affected. It’s sad. There are over 900 people that call the USS Arizona their final resting place, and some of those 900 chose to be buried there after surviving and living their lives. My generation, for the most part, and I’d like to think myself excluded, doesn’t understand or practice respect for other humans. I’m having a hard time putting into words what I felt like standing over that ship. It’s almost like a sense of helplessness, pride, respect, and overwhelming sadness. I didn’t cry, promise, but it almost felt like my soul was crying? This sounds so cheesey as I write it out, instead of thinking it, but  it is what it is, and I wouldn’t trade that experience for anything.

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading.

 

– Stephanie

Standard

Leave a Reply

