[065] Special Events

065a

I like having a routine on a daily basis. Right now my weekly routine consists of waking up, going to work, going to the gym, updating my blog when I get home, eat, watch tv or read, and go to sleep. As thrilling as that routine is, I need special activities to break up the monotony. I like planning a buch of meals and going grocery shopping, taking 20 minutes at the end of the night to use a beauty mask, or writing a long email to a friend. Those may not really sound all that special, but it helps break up the routine that is my life.

Today I decided to add a new ‘special event’ to my week: a walk in the woods. Now, by woods I don’t at all mean the wilderness. There’s a trail that goes through a patch of protected woods right by my house all the way down to Lake Washington. Round trip it takes me less than an hour, but that’s going to serve as time for me to reflect on whatever. I’m sure there will be recurring themes, but every week brings its own challenges and this will give me a chance to work through them without distractions. Today I took my iPhone because I wanted to take pictures, but next week all electronics will be left at home.

I’m not a religious person but I absolutely believe in self-reflection. If you don’t take time to think for yourself, about yourself, without any outside influences, there’s no way you’re going to know what you want out of life. Taking this big step, and moving across the country, has made me realize how many possibilities there are for me, both personally and professionally. This move has given me a lot to take in, and without setting aside this reflecting time, I would feel completely overwhelmed. Instead I’m just whelmed. I’ve realized that I don’t have to figure everything out right away; the sense of surprise is a little exhilarating, and it’s starting to grow on me.

065b

 

– Stephanie

Standard

One thought on “[065] Special Events

Leave a Reply

