[072] A Blue and White Plaid Easter

072

First of all, remember last week when I tried to make pound cake and failed epically? Well yesterday I was successful! Take that, baking.

In my family Easter isn’t really an important holiday. We aren’t usually all together like we are at Christmas, but this year it’s a little different. My Babcia (bob-cha) and Dziadzia (ja-ja), or grandparents, are moving out of the house they’ve been living in for over 40 years. This move required some pitching in from all their children, my mother, her 3 brothers, and their families, and it’s happening this coming week. Everyone is flocking to Buffalo, NY, except for me.

With my new job, and the amount a plane ticket costs, I couldn’t make the trip. All my cousins, second cousins, aunts and uncles, mother, father, sister, and dog are going to be there. At first it made me pretty sad that I’d be missing out, especially since this week I was bombarded with “missing my family” emotions. But then I remembered that I would be seeing most of them in June when I head home to Syracuse for my sister’s high school graduation. Plus the weather in Seattle is SO much nicer than it will be in Buffalo. Plus I have my aunt and little cousin to spend the day with. I even got my very own Easter basket! I think it’s time for me to start letting go of the notion that all the holidays are going to be the same with me living on the West Coast. They aren’t, but that’s totally ok. It just means that I need to mentally adjust, and enjoy everything and everyone that I have over here. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to let go of spending Christmas with my family, but I can totally afford at least one, long trip home each year.

Standard

Leave a Reply

