[085] Portlandia

085a

Ah, Portlandia. Where the dream of the 90s is still alive.

Seriously though, it’s nice, but I don’t think I like it as much as Seattle. It’s really just a smaller version of Seattle with weirder people; today I saw a girl who was wearing a tail. It was weird stuff…see for yourself.

085b

Besides the extra weirdness Caroline and I left around 9:30 and made it to Portland around 1. We went to see her friend’s MFA show and then he took us up to see his studio space! After that, we went to lunch at Sweet Hereafter which actually only serves vegan food. I was a little hesitant, but I got the Steve Martin sandwich (jerk seasoned tofu, grilled pineapple, kale slaw, miso mayo on a chibata roll) and was amazed at how delicious it was.

085c

After that, we ran a little errand (Caroline needed to get a gift for her best friend that’s getting married next week) and then we headed to Voodoo Donuts and just kept driving when we saw the length of the line. Another drive by happened at Voodoo Donut Too where the line was just as long…next time I guess. All in all I’d say it was a nice first trip to Portland. Caroline and I decided next time we should plan out more 🙂

As soon as I got home I washed, and then put a mask on my face, heated up the chocolate lava cake I received as payment for babysitting last night, and half took off my bra. You might be asking yourself, “How could she possibly only take her bra off half way?” And to that I would respond, “I unhooked the clasps but couldn’t get the straps off because of the shirt I was wearing and because I had that mask on my face I couldn’t get the shirt off. I pulled the cups out of my shirt, and it’s now hanging on the outside, with the straps still around my arms.” I’m not even sure if that paints a good enough picture of how weird Portland made me, but think ‘wearing a backpack in front’ status.

 

– Stephanie

Standard

Leave a Reply

