[114] A Day for Mothers

114

I generally don’t give in to the peer pressure of writing a long-winded status update about how amazing my mother and other mother-figures in my life are. I call them, or tell them in person, to let them know how much they mean to me, and how much it’s meant to have them in my life.

Being away from my mom this mother’s day got me thinking about how much I’ve learned from her, even though I fought her wisdom and advice for a long time. We didn’t always get along, especially when I was in high school, but once her advice didn’t seem forced on me anymore, I started to listen to what she had to say. When it came to relationships, she had more experience than I knew about, and some of her stories directly related to what I was going through. I couldn’t have gotten through the past 7 months without having her to talk and cry to. She has this weird way of knowing exactly why I’m acting or reacting the way that I am, and that’s because she knows me. That’s not to say that I haven’t had other people to support me, but today is about my mother.

Mom,

You’re an amazingly strong and intelligent woman that I look up to and appreciate every single day. You love with your whole heart and I wouldn’t be half the person I am without your tireless encouragement, and tolerable pushiness. I love you.

It’s been 114 days since I’ve seen my mom, and the rest of my family, and it’s been the longest 114 days of my life. I miss her like crazy, but can’t wait to see everyone in June when I go home for my sister’s high school graduation in 27 days. Yes, I started a countdown.

– Stephanie

Standard

Leave a Reply

